The Backlog Check-in Vol. 89: 9/14/19: The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 89: 9/14/19: The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Decay of Logos, Jagged Alliance: Rage!, Strange Brigade

Finished (playing): Decay of Logos, Jagged Alliance: Rage!

Playing: Strange Brigade

Added: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age, Ghost Recon: Wildlands

I stopped playing Decay of Logos because it got really cheap where enemies started taking tons of hits to defeat, but could kill me with just a couple of hits. That's just a lazy way to make a game more challenging, and I find it to be cheap and not fun. I like a lot about the game, but it's unfortunately unbalanced and unfinished. I'll play it again in the future if the developers release an update for it that fixes balancing issues and bugs.

I started playing Jagged Alliance: Rage! since I like a good tactical turn-based strategy game once in a while, and I found it to be decent. It's on the lower budget side, but offers some charm. It feels somewhat like a poor man's XCOM, but with a mercenary theme. I was somewhat enjoying it, but it's really challenging even on easy requiring a lot of trial-and-error. I'm just not in the mood for its methodically slow paced trial-and-error gameplay right now, but it's something that I plan on coming back to in the future when the mood strikes me more.

I started playing Strange Brigade, and it's a fun old school style arcade-ish/linear-ish third person action shooter hybrid with some light puzzle solving. It looks and plays good, and has charm and humor. It's a co-op game that gives off the feeling that you're supposed to be playing with others like co-op games usually do, but I'm still enjoying it solo.