The Backlog Check-in Vol. 51: 12/22/18: Christmas Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 51: 12/22/18: Christmas Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

I started playing Red Dead Redemption, but wasn't able to really get into it. It felt strange playing it after Red Dead Redemption II not only because it looked a lot worse by comparison, but also because from a story and character perspective it's obvious that it came before RDR2 despite Rockstar's best efforts to try and sync the two games. John Marston and the other characters in both games have somewhat different personalities in each game (as well as there just being an overall different vibe to both games), and it was pulling me out of the experience.

As much as I enjoyed RDR2, I would have rather it been a sequel instead of a prequel because I admittedly wasn't all that interested in playing out the past events of John's gang. I also think that it would have allowed for more creative freedom since they wouldn't have been stuck trying to make everything tie into RDR so much. And to be honest, I've never really been a fan of prequels in any medium because it usually feels like they're making it up as they go along since they're trying to make up a past for an already established future. There's exceptions of course, I thought that Life is Strange: Before the Storm and Yakuza 0 we're good prequels for example. However, I usually prefer experiencing earlier events before later events instead of experiencing them after.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays
Last edited by Phaseknox on Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
canedaddy

Re: The Backlog Check-in Vol. 51: 12/22/18: Christmas Edition

Post by canedaddy »

Merry Christmas, gentlemen! This has been a crazy busy month for me... sorry I haven't been around much.

Played last week: Red Dead Redemption II

Finished: nothing

Added to backlog: nothing

Current backlog: 35 (14 PS4, 8 Vita, 6 3DS/2DS, 5 PS2)