The Backlog Check-in Vol. 57: 2/1/19: Phase is Old Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 57: 2/1/19: Phase is Old Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Assassin's Creed: Origins, Dying Light

Finished (playing): Assassin's Creed: Origins, Dying Light

Playing: Shadow of the Tomb Raider

I started playing Dying Light, and while it seems like a decent first person zombie apocalypse survival game with parkour - the story and characters weren't really doing it for me, it was frustratingly difficult from the start and most of the missions were fetch quests so I stopped playing. I think that it's something that I might like if I'm in the right mood, but that isn't now.

I decided to play Assassin's Creed: Origins since I've been wanting to play it for a while, and I'm really enjoying it. It's more similar to big sprawling open world action adventure games with RPG elements like Horizon Zero Dawn than it is to Assassin's Creed, but it still has a lot of AC elements. However, its gameplay and combat have been improved quite substantially compared to previous AC games.

The story, characters and quests (both main and side) are good, and I like Bayek for the most part although he comes across like an Egyptian Kratos at times. The game world is big, varied and impressive looking with lots to do in it. I really like the combat, and I also like the crafting, leveling and skill unlocking elements since they give an incentive to do the side stuff.

In other news, I'm going to be 49 this Tuesday.

Edit: My brother got me Shadow of the Tomb Raider for my birthday, so I stopped playing Assassin's Creed: Origins and started playing it.
Last edited by Phaseknox on Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:38 pm, edited 6 times in total.
isthatallyougot

Re: The Backlog Check-in Vol. 57: 2/1/19: Phase is Old Edition

Post by isthatallyougot »

Happy b-day phase. I'll be 50 this summer.