The Backlog Check-in Vol. 296: 9/2/23: Baldur’s Gate III (PS5)/NBA 2K24/Starfield Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 296: 9/2/23: Baldur’s Gate III (PS5)/NBA 2K24/Starfield Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Need For Speed Heat, Sea of Stars

Finished: Nothing

Playing: Daymare: 1994 Sandcastle

Added: Daymare: 1994 Sandcastle, Gal Guardians: Demon Purge, Sea of Stars

I started playing Daymare: 1994 Sandcastle, and I’m enjoying it. It’s a linear third person survival horror game inspired by Resident Evil, but it’s darker, scarier and more serious in tone. The graphics kind of look like a PS3/Xbox 360 generation game, but the art design, lighting and ambient noises deliver a claustrophobic, dark and unsettling atmosphere. It was made by a small Italian dev team so it doesn’t have the biggest production values, but they did a good job with the budget that they had to work with. It’s higher quality than an indie game, it’s a AA game. It plays fairly solid with pretty good gameplay and shooting mechanics, but the camera is closer to the character than I would like. However, it’s not a fast action type game where you’re dodging and rolling around, it’s primarily slowly searching environments, collecting key items, solving occasional puzzles and shooting creatures. The story, characters and voice acting are all ok, they’re nothing great but not bad. It’s a good game overall, and I look forward to playing it some more.

Games releasing this week
Abriss - Build to Destroy
Alchemy Garden
Anonymous;Code
Baldur’s Gate III (PS5)
Borderlands Collection: Pandora’s Box
Cats and the Other Lives
Chants of Sennaar
Conbunn Cardboard
Dokapon Kingdom: Connect
The Dragoness: Command of the Flame
Dreamers
Enchanted Portals
Escape First Alchemist
Eternal Tombs
Fae Farm
Final Fantasy VII: Ever Crisis
Girl Genius: Adventures in Castle Heterodyne
Hexapoda
Into the Sky
Lempo
The Many Pieces of Mr. Coo
Medieval Apocalypse
Microvolts: Recharged
Molly Medusa: Queen of Spit