The Backlog Check-in Vol. 305: 11/4/23: Call of Duty: MW3/Like a Dragon Gaiden: The Man Who Erased His Name Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 305: 11/4/23: Call of Duty: MW3/Like a Dragon Gaiden: The Man Who Erased His Name Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Deliver Us Mars, Persona 5 Royal

Finished: Nothing

Playing: Deliver Us Mars

Added: Ashina: The Red Witch, Deliver Us Mars, Dragon Quest Builders 2, Gylt, Lost Words: Beyond the Page, Regalia: Of Men and Monarchs, 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim

I played Persona 5 Royal for 30 hours, and while I was enjoying it I wasn’t prepared to put another 100 hours into it right now with so many other games that I’m interested in playing at this time. So I quit playing it, and I will play it again another time. I’m buying Persona 4 Golden this week because it’s on sale, and I plan on playing it soonish because I didn’t finish it back when I originally played it on PS2.

I started playing Deliver Us Mars, and I’ve been enjoying it. It’s a sequel to Deliver Us the Moon which I never played, but while there are some references to that game it’s not necessary to play it since Deliver Us Mars takes place 10 years after it and has a separate story and new cast of characters. It’s a linear story/character driven third/first person sci-if adventure with climbing/platforming and puzzle solving. It’s an indie game developed by a small dev team from the Netherlands so it’s a little low budget and rough around the edges, but still quite entertaining. The story, environment graphics, voice acting and music are all really good, but unfortunately the character models look pretty bad. The story is the main draw of the game, but tgere’s some varied gameplay on offer as well such as environment interaction with climbing/platforming and puzzle solving. There’s no combat, but it’s primarily a narrative adventure game with light gameplay elements. The story has me intrigued, and wanting to see what happens next and where it goes.