The Backlog Check-in Vol. 138: 8/22/20: Madden NFL 21/Wasteland 3 Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 138: 8/22/20: Madden NFL 21/Wasteland 3 Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Asdivine Dios, GreedFall, The Technomancer

Finished: Nothing

Playing: Asdivine Dios

Added: Alekhine's Gun, Asdivine Dios, Shadows: Awakening, Shining Resonance Refrain, Trine 4: The Nightmare Prince

I started playing The Technomancer, and it's a solid mid-tier third person action RPG. Its graphics and gameplay (more specifically combat) are both pretty good, and the story and characters seemed decent based on what I played of it. The voice acting was ok as well. But the problem is that unlike almost every other similar RPG that lets you customize your character, there's no female option. And the male character that you're forced to play as is boring and generic in both look and personality. If I have to play as a male protagonist in a game (especially an RPG) which isn't my preference, then they better be a really good character. Unfortunately, this one isn't. He's not bad, but the entire time that I was playing I was thinking how much more that I would be enjoying the game if I was playing as a cool female character. Having to play as a male character that I'm not really interested in playing as might be a deal-breaker for me, because when I play a game I pretty much need to like the character that I'm playing as in it. I stopped playing it, and I'm not sure that I will ever go back to it.