The Backlog Check-in Vol. 167: 3/13/21: Space Otter Charlie Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 167: 3/13/21: Space Otter Charlie Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Crossing Souls, Outbreak: The New Nightmare

Finished: Crossing Souls

Playing: ?

Added: Manhunt, Red Dead Revolver

I started playing Outbreak: The New Nightmare, and was mildly enjoying it. It’s basically a low budget poor man’s version of the original Resident Evil games. Story and characterization is basically nonexistent. There’s some text at the beginning that vaguely explains the situation, and then you just start the game in an office building.

While it has 3D graphics, the camera is fixed and constantly changes angles and perspectives as you move through the big maze-like office building. The goal is to locate keys to open locked doors, and while searching for them you come across zombies.

You start with a pistol and limited ammo, and find other weapons along the way such as knives, axes, shotguns and machine guns. The melee weapons are so slow and weak that they’re basically useless, and the shotguns and machine guns are extremely limited on ammo.

The graphics look PS2 quality, and the gameplay is clunky and cumbersome. But I’m a sucker for survival horror games, so I was getting some enjoyment out of it. However, the constant backtracking, respawning zombies and annoying camera angles/perspectives were taking away from the fun so I decided to quit playing since I have better games to play.

Games releasing this week
Adios
Angry Video Game Nerd I & II Deluxe
Beach Buggy Racing 2: Island Adventure
Can’t Drive This
Chess Knights: Viking Lands
Darq: Complete Edition
Dogworld
Dungeon Defenders: Awakened
Endzone: A World Apart
Explosionade DX
In Rays of the Light
Mundaun
Plants vs. Zombies: Battle for Neighborville
QV
R.B.I. Baseball 21
Saviors of Sapphire Wings: Stranger of Sword City Revisited
Signs of the Sojourner
Space Otter Charlie
crimson_tide