The Backlog Check-in Vol. 195: 9/25/21: FIFA 22 Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 195: 9/25/21: FIFA 22 Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Assassin’s Creed Odyssey

Finished (playing): Assassin’s Creed Odyssey

Playing: Diablo III: Eternal Collection

Added: Nothing

I finished episode 2 of Assassin’s Creed Odyssey: The Fate of Atlantis, and it was really good. The story, characters and quests were all great, and it was well paced and didn’t overstay its welcome. Just when I was starting to want to leave its dark, dreary and depressing environment, I reached its end. It definitely looks cool somewhat like a Souls game, but after a while it becomes an unpleasant place to be in unlike beautiful and colorful ancient Greece from the main game.

I started playing episode 3 Judgment of Atlantis, and didn’t really care for it. Atlantis is colorful and pretty much like Elysium is, but poorly designed and laid out. It’s a condensed, multileveled, same-y looking city environment that’s congested and difficult to navigate. I gave it a chance and did a few quests, but none of them were good IMO. In addition to the quests not being very good, you’re also given a bunch of mundane collect-a-thon tasks that I just wasn’t up for so I decided to quit.

Episode 2 Torment of Hades felt connected to the main game since you go to the underworld where you sent your defeated enemies, and encounter a lot of them there again. The environment was also designed/laid out similar to the ones in the main game, and the quests were primarily based on combat without any boring or mundane tasks. Episode 1 Fields of Elysium and episode 3 Judgment of Atlantis are too far removed from the main game for me, and are also too focused on being connected to the modern day sci-fi stuff which I really have no interest in. Not to mention that their environments are too fantastical and poorly designed/laid out IMO, especially Judgment of Atlantis.