The Backlog Check-in Vol. 196: 10/2/21: Far Cry 6/Metroid Dread Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 196: 10/2/21: Far Cry 6/Metroid Dread Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Diablo III: Eternal Collection

Finished (playing): Diablo III: Eternal Collection

Playing: Die Young

Added: Nothing

I stopped playing Diablo III despite liking it more as the Demon Hunter because it’s repetitive with a somewhat generic dark fantasy story, and a fairly uninteresting cast of characters. It’s basically the same thing throughout with only the scenery graphics changing. You make your way through open-ish areas and semi maze-like dungeons slaughtering onslaughts of enemies and getting loot. Lather, rinse, repeat. It’s labeled as an action RPG, but there’s not much RPG about it. It’s more of an action game. It can be fun if you’re really in the mood for its gameplay loop, but I’m not right now.

I started playing an indie game developed in Greece called Die Young, and I’m enjoying it. It’s an open world first person survival horror game with platforming elements that takes place on an island with obvious inspiration taken from Far Cry 3 minus the guns. My only real issue with it so far is that it’s low budget, but even so it still manages to deliver a solid experience. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is good, the voice acting is passable and the overall design is well done. There’s very little handholding, exploration is definitely encouraged. It also offers some resource gathering, crafting and survival sim elements. I think that it’s something that Izzy would like.

Games releasing this week
Art of Rally
Atom RPG Supporter Edition
Blaze and the Monster Machines: Axle City Racers
BPM: Bullets Per Minute
Exophobia
Far Cry 6
Hell Let Loose
Jett: The Far Shore
Lord of the Click 2
Metroid Dread
Night Reverie
No Longer Home
Phoenix Point
Puzzle Bobble 3D: Vacation Odyssey
Rainbow Billy: The Curse of the Leviathan
Rain City
Super Monkey Ball: Banana Mania