The Backlog Check-in Vol. 219: 3/12/22: Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 219: 3/12/22: Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: The Last Stand: Aftermath, Resident Evil Remake, Tormented Souls

Finished: Tormented Souls

Playing: The Last Stand: Aftermath

Added: Hitman Definitive Edition, Hitman 2, Hitman 3

I stopped playing Resident Evil Remake because it was feeling too familiar, I have too many games that I haven’t played yet to be replaying ones that I have.

I was still in a survival horror mood, so I started playing one called The Last Stand: Aftermath. It reminds me of a mix of Dead Nation, How to Survive and State of Decay. It’s an isometric view zombie apocalypse action survival game, and I’ve been enjoying it.

While it’s another zombie game, it has a somewhat unique premise. Uninfected people live in a safe colony, but have to venture out to get supplies putting them at risk of getting infected or eaten by the zombies that are everywhere outside of their compound. So instead they have people who are already infected and are going to eventually turn into zombies go out and gather supplies and turn on tracking beacons to their locations making them easily attainable for pickup from people in the colony.

You play as an infected person going out and gathering and scavenging as much as you can before you either turn into a zombie, or get killed by them. You have an infection meter that is continuously slowly depleting, and once it depletes completely you turn into a zombie and your run is over. There are different stages to its depletion, and each time that it depletes a certain amount you start to mutate a little from human to zombie gaining a new ability. You always begin with one syringe shot that stops the infection meter from depleting for a while, and can find more in the environments but they’re scarce.