The Backlog Check-in Vol. 278: 4/29/23: Redfall Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 278: 4/29/23: Redfall Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: BloodRayne ReVamped, Firegirl: Hack ‘n Splash Rescue DX, Windbound

Finished: BloodRayne ReVamped

Playing: Firegirl: Hack ‘n Splash Rescue DX

I started playing Windbound which is an adventure survival game with a big ocean, and small islands that you sail to. It doesn’t tell you where to go or what to do, and there’s no map. It has tutorials that teach you gameplay mechanics and how to craft things, but other than that you’re on your own to figure out where to go and what to do. The graphics, gameplay and music are all nice, and the crafting is pretty straight forward with you basically just needing to collect the required materials. It’s the hunger meter/stamina bar that is the most challenging aspect of the game. You have a full stamina bar when you start, but it depletes when you get hungry which is often. The only way to replenish it is to eat, but food is scarce. I discovered berries and mushrooms to eat, and you can kill animals such as boars to get their meat which if you make a campfire you can cook it and eat it. But it takes a long time to sail to each island and some of them don’t have any food sources, so I was dying of hunger often. It’s a slow paced adventure survival game about exploration, crafting and managing health, hunger and stamina. I was somewhat enjoying it, but it’s not really what I’m in the mood for right now.

I started playing Firegirl: Hack ‘n Splash Rescue DX, and it’s more of what I’m in the mood for right now. It reminds me of a classic Japanese arcade game - it’s got anime characters, a goofy story about fire monsters and is a 2.5D side scrolling action platformer with you extinguishing fire monsters with a water hose, hacking through obstacles with your axe, platforming and rescuing people and animals. It’s cute, fast paced and fun with basic controls and upgrades.