The Backlog Check-in Vol. 290: 7/22/23: Remnant II Edition

Phaseknox

The Backlog Check-in Vol. 290: 7/22/23: Remnant II Edition

Post by Phaseknox »

Played: Arcade Paradise, Dark Messiah Might and Magic: Elements, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, Wanted: Dead

Finished: Nothing

Playing: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age

Added: Arcade Paradise, Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous

I started playing Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age, and I’ve been enjoying it. The remastered graphics look like a PS3 game, the music is orchestrated and I’ve been enjoying the story and characters. It starts out a little slow, but it picks up a few hours in.

The battle system, license board and gambits are a little confusing at first, but I think that I have a handle on them now for the most part. However, a realtime action battle system similar to the one in Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning would have been better IMO. Waiting for an action bar to slowly fill before you can attack, cast magic, or use items is kind of annoying. But turning off the battle lines helps, because they look hokey and serve no real purpose. I enjoy the combat more without them cluttering up the screen.

There’s been a little more dungeon crawling than I was expecting, but it’s fine. The one thing that I kind of dislike is that in battle/dungeon areas you see all of the characters in your party, but in areas such as encampments, villages, towns and cities you only see the main character (Vaan). I don’t understand why you don’t see your party members in those areas as well. But overall it’s a good JRPG that has been holding my interest.

Games releasing this week
Anvil
Arcadian Atlus
Arms Evolution: Zombie Destroyer
The Banished Vault
Birth
The Black Pepper Crew
Crimson Tactics: Rise of the White Banner
Demonic Supremacy
Disfigure
Disney Illusion Island
Double Dragon Gaiden: Rise of the Dragons
The Expanse: A Telltale Series Episode 1
Grand Emprise: Time Travel Survival
Great Ambitions of the Slimes